if you're familiar with importing and exporting runbooks, you have most likely seen the unintrusive little checkbox under the export settings labeled "export global configurations" and under the import settings labeled "import global configurations". how about "overwrite existing global configurations"? any idea what that does? resorting to the help file, it explains the overwrite option as: Select Overwrite existing global configurations to replace any current settings with the settings in the imported runbook or runbooks. Overwriting replaces the entire set of configurations for a particular group. For example, if an imported runbook contains an SNMP activity, any current SNMP settings will be overwritten and any currently configured SNMP activities will be deleted. all this did was provide more confusion for me so i tested a few things to see exactly what i was dealing with. when you export the ois_export file, it's actually exported as xml.